If you did not yet get a chance to check out our last blog, do yourself a favor and pop on over. Our Orlando ENT doctors are excited to share more about the ear’s anatomy. We won’t make you wait any longer, so continue on to read all about your ears and find out where you can get an Orlando hearing test.

Outer ear parts and functions:

When looking at the ear, you may wonder what each part is called and what those tiny parts do. In the last article, we shared what the tragus does. Now, we want to share what the other, intricate parts do.

When looking at the ear, you see the helix, antihelix, concha (cymba and cavum), tragus, antitragus, incisura, crus helix, triangular fossa, inferior crus of helix, and lobule (earlobe or lobe).

The antihelix is a Y-shaped curved, cartilaginous ridge which extends from the antitragus. It separates the concha, triangular fossa, and scapha. The antihelix is a folding of the conchal cartilage.

Each person’s ear looks slightly different because the antihelix’s volume and degree of folding can vary. The inferior of the antihelix crus is the lower cartilaginous ridge arising at the bifurcation of the antihelix. It ends under the fold of the ascending helix.

The inferior crus separates the concha and the triangular fossa. The inferior antithetical crus runs in an anterior and somewhat superior direction. It is usually sharply defined, but this can vary on each ear. The inferior crus of the antihelix is also called the anterior crus of the antihelix.

The superior crus of the antihelix is the upper cartilaginous ridge arising at the bifurcation of the antihelix. It separates the scapha from the triangular fossa. The superior crus runs in a superior, slightly anterior direction.

It is usually less sharply folded than the lower portion of the inferior crus. It is also called the posterior crus of the antihelix. Next, let’s talk about the antitragus.

More outer ear parts:

The antitragus is the anterosuperior cartilaginous potrustion which lies between the incisura and the start of the antihelix.

Next up is the helix. The helix is the outer rim of the ear that lines the ear from the base where it meets the scalp to the earlobe in a C shape. It is divided into three parts: the ascending helix, the superior helix, and the descending helix.

The very last section of the helix which meet the earlobe is usually non-cartilaginous. This means there is no cartilage there, just skin and tissue. Again, just like everywhere else on each person’s body, the helix may look slightly different, but the rim is usually rolled and firm.

Whether you call it an earlobe, lobe, or lobule, this section of the outer ear is the soft, squishy part of the outer ear. The outer ear is also called the pinna. The pinna is the only visible part of the ear.

Last week, we shared about ear piercing risks. We also informed readers of the external ear anatomy. Now, we want to go in a little deeper into the ear.

Let’s begin with the ear canal. The ear canal starts at the outer ear. It ends at the eardrum. The canal is only an inch in length.

Ear canal skin is very sensitive to pain and pressure. Beneath the skin, the outer one third of the canal is cartilage. The inner two thirds of the canal is bone.

In medical terms, the ear canal is called the external acoustic meatus. The ear canal is also referred to as the outer ear. It functions as a passageway for sound waves to enter the ear.

Orlando hearing test:

Next week, we are continuing this extended series. We are then going to move into the middle ear. Make sure to call our Orlando office if you have ear pain, hearing loss, or other ENT symptoms.

Staff Writer

Back to Blog

With 3 convenient locations across the Orlando area, we’re never far away.

Find your ENT Request Appointment
Contact us media
Accessibility: If you are vision-impaired or have some other impairment covered by the Americans with Disabilities Act or a similar law, and you wish to discuss potential accommodations related to using this website, please contact our Accessibility Manager at .


Learn More